Garden Digest-June

Raspberries on the vine

Raspberries on the vine

Glorious raspberries!  I planted these about three years ago with a couple of sprouts that my friend Sean dug out of his garden for me.  They  have multiplied, being a native to the northwest.  I love them and have introduced my granddaughter to going out and eating the ripe berries right off the vine.  I pick them and she leans forward with her mouth open, ready for a sweet treat.  Here is the Avenue of Raspberries.  I have to pull up the new sprouts because I want to keep them contained to this area.  As it is, I need to get that mountain of gravel at the end of the path moved and tie up the shoots that are starting to reach across.  Concrete is being poured this Saturday morning. I will then be able to get that gravel moved and make picking easier.

The avenue of raspberries

I still managed to get these: IMG_0269

Here is a delicious and slightly different way to use some of those berries.

Raspberry Cranacan

Serves: 4 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon whisky
  • 2 tablespoons clear honey
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • 3 tablespoons oatmeal
  • Method
  • Prep:15 min  ›  Cook:10 min  ›  Ready in:25 min
  1. Toast the oatmeal in a frying pan over low heat. Let cool.
  2. Lightly whip the cream, then fold in the honey, whisky, oatmeal and raspberries.
  3. Chill in refrigerator until ready to serve.

I’ve made this Scottish dessert without the whiskey and it’s good.  I’ve had it with the whiskey in a pub in England and it’s better!

Blooming kiwi

The kiwi is loaded with hundreds of blooms, each one will be a fruit.  Lots of flan in my future. I will post the recipe when it’s closer to ripening time.  It’s from my friend Suzanne and it’s luscious!  There is nothing better on a hot day than a cold kiwi, eaten with a spoon,  kind of like sherbet.

IMG_0260      IMG_0261

Lots of roses already.  The yellow are David Austen and this is the plant that collapsed last year .  We had to get a trellis and stake it, which it seems to like.  They smell heavenly!  I’m not sure what the others are, but they are long stemmed.  I can’t keep the rust off of the leaves, but I don’t worry about it too much.

IMG_0263

As promised, the grape vine has become a wall of green.  It has also got lots of fruit.  I guess this warm season is just what they needed after last years harsh winter.  In my next post I’ll include a recipe for stuffed grape leaves, one of our favorites.

IMG_0262 I will be cutting this salvia back soon, it’s crowding the tomato plant.  The tomatoes are having a hard time getting started this year.

IMG_0264

Lovely blooming dahlias.

                    The Calla Lilies did come back after all.

The Elephant Ears did not.   IMG_0265

Some other nice blooms are the Gerbera Daisy and Angel’s Fishing Wand, both do well here.

       IMG_0268 IMG_0267

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Garden Digest-June | londoncab53

Leave a Reply

